Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Saravana Kumar’s five-wicket haul takes Tamil Nadu into final | Cricket News

CHENNAI: Medium-pacer Saravana Kumar’s maiden five-wicket haul (5 for 21) in T20 matches helped Tamil Nadu thrash Hyderabad by eight wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy semifinals at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Saturday morning.
Saravana’s show with the ball saw Tamil Nadu dismiss their opponents for 90. In reply, skipper Vijay Shankar (43 not out, 4×4, 1×6) and Sai Sudharsan (34 not out, 4×4) made sure that Tamil Nadu crossed the finish line in 14.2 overs.
Hyderabad’s misery, after being asked to bat first, began in their second over when Saravana dismissed the in-form Tanmay Agarwal – caught at third-man region by Sandeep Warrier. In his second over, the 32-year-old accounted for Tilak Varma (8) and Himalay Agarwal as Hyderabad slipped to 17 for 3. While Tilak was caught by Hari Nishaanth in the point region, M Shahrukh Khan took a well-judged catch at slips to send back Himalay.
Saravana made good use of the assistance the wicket was providing the bowlers. Saravana’s figures after his first two overs read 2-2-0-3. In his next over, he got his fourth scalp in the form of Pragnay Reddy – caught by M Ashwin at gully region – to reduce Hyderabad to 26 for 4 in the 6th over.
Tamil Nadu continued to pick wickets at regular intervals in the middle overs thanks to the efforts of leg-spinner M Ashwin (2 for 13), medium-pacer M Mohammed (2 for 12) and left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore (1 for 19).
Tanay Thyagarajan (25, 1×4, 1×6) – caught at mid-wicket region by Sai Kishore – became Saravana’s fifth victim in the 19th over.
“Saravana went for a few runs in his previous games. For him to come out and deliver such a strong performance will do wonders to his confidence. Also, credit must be given to the team management who backed him and it was a great show by him,” Vijay Shankar told TOI after the match.
Tamil Nadu didn’t have the best of starts while chasing. Openers N Jagadeesan (1) and C Hari Nishaanth (14) departed early before Shankar and Sai Sudharsan got together in the third over. The duo were watchful to start with.
With a below-par total to chase, the two kept the scoreboard ticking with good running between the wickets and didn’t shy away from essaying those big shots each time a loose ball was on offer. Shankar and Sai Sudharsan’s unbeaten 76-run stand saw Tamil Nadu make their third successive final in the competition with 34 balls to spare.
Brief scores: Hyderabad 90 in 18.3 overs (Saravana Kumar 5 for 21) lost to Tamil Nadu 92 for 2 in 14.2 overs (Vijay Shankar 43 not out., Sai Sudharsan 34 not out.; Rakshann 2 for 23) by 8 wickets.

Source link

About Post Author

Anjali Singh

Anjali Singh Born on 15 Jun 2001 an Indian author and activist from Firozabad in Uttar Pradesh. Live in New Delhi